Awards Speak Volumes About Library Staff Expertise

Jun. 17, 2010

McDermott Library staff members Jennifer Gordon and Abdullah Daud have won the Ethel Ward-McLemore Awards for Library Excellence.

Gordon, a senior librarian and head of the Electronic Resources team, oversees 45,000 e-journals and more than 200 databases. A committee of her peers praised her creation of custom electronic models that have been effective in uses beyond her home department.

Daud is the digital librarian in the Operating Systems department. Known as the “Patient Magician,” his work is considered to be superior of that of many of the industry's technical models. The committee recognized that his results have produced outstanding benefits and improvements for all library departments.

The two accepted their awards from Sheila Amin Gutierrez de Pineres, interim dean of libraries, at a recent banquet. The staff drew praise for its work overall by UT Dallas Executive Vice President and Provost Hobson Wildenthal.

The 2010 McLemore Awards committee consisted of Jach Ross, Carol Oshel, Tom Koch, Susie Kutchi and Mark Middaugh.

The late Ethel McLemore worked in geophysics and conducted research in the Geological Information Library from an office in McDermott Library. Impressed by the professionalism, knowledge and concern of the library staff, she created an endowment in 1989 for the awards presented in her name.

Media Contact: Karah Hosek, UT Dallas, (972) 883-4329, [email protected]
or Tom Koch, McDermott Library, UT Dallas, (972) 883-4951, [email protected]
facebook icon twitter icon linkedin icon email icon

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

McLemore Award winners

Dr. Sheila Amin Gutierrez de Pineres (center), the interim dean of libraries, congratulates  Jennifer Gordon and Abdullah Daud on their honors.


McLemore Award Honor Roll

1989 – Peggy Olsson, Pat Rudkin
1990 – Henry Reed, Peg Fawns
1991 – Linda Snow, Sheila Blankenship
1992 – Rick Biddenstadt, Vickie Bullock
1993 – Jean Vik, Jane Heslep
1994 – Toni Huckaby, Lila Babcock
1995 – Joan Aquatero, Nancy Whitt
1996 – Allen Clayton, Darlene Ricketts
1997 – Nancy Steele, Ellen Safley
1998 – Patsy Aguilera, Lynn Butler
1999 – Denyse Henery, Gaby Perkowski
2000 – Jane Darling, Mary Caspari
2001 ­– Debbie Montgomery, Shawn Proctor
2002 – Ruth Oldham, Sharon Deal
2003 – Fatiah Lambert, Debbie Gilbert
2004 – Merry Trujillo, Loreen Phillips
2005 – Tahmoures Elyasi, Mircea Grancea
2006 – Mary Ann Harrison, Serenity King
2007 – Sue McInis, Carol McGee
2008 – Carol Oshel, Tom Koch
2009 – Susan Kutchi, Jach Ross
2010 - Jennifer Gordon, Abdullah Daud

Share this page

Email this article.

May 21, 2018