Magnetic Imaging Researcher’s Work Recognized

Fellowship Honors Leaders in Field Seeking Breakthrough Medical Applications

Jun. 16, 2011

Dr. Dean Sherry, professor of chemistry at UT Dallas, has been elected as a Fellow of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine.  Sherry is one of only a handful of scientists chosen by the Society each year to receive the fellowship status.

Sherry began his career at UT Dallas in 1972. His expertise includes developing new types of imaging agents and using imaging to gain insight into human metabolism.

Sherry holds the Cecil H. and Ida Green Distinguished Chair in Systems Biology, and has a joint appointment at UT Southwestern Medical Center as a professor of radiology and director of the Advanced Imaging Research Center.

“It’s exciting to be recognized by my peers,” Sherry said. “I’ve been involved with this organization for several years now, and I was honored by the award.”

The International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine is an international, nonprofit, scientific association whose purpose is to promote communication, research, development and applications in the field of magnetic resonance in medicine and biology. Its multidisciplinary membership of more than 6,000 includes clinicians, physicists, engineers, biochemists and technologists.

Sherry received the Fellowship Award at the group’s annual meeting in May in Montreal. Of thousands of members, just over 200 have earned the designation, including Peter Lauterbur, a Nobel Prize recipient, and Dr. Craig Malloy, a close collaborator of Dr. Sherry’s at UT Southwestern.

Sherry also founded Macrocyclics, a company that provides biomedical research materials to academic and industrial labs worldwide.

Media Contact: Katherine Morales, 972-883-4321, [email protected]
or the Office of Media Relations, 972-883-2155, [email protected]
facebook icon twitter icon linkedin icon email icon

Text size: Increase text sizeDecrease text size

Dr. Dean Sherry

Dr. Dean Sherry (left) accepts the fellowship from Dr. Georg M. Bongartz, president of the International Society for Magnetic Resonance in Medicine.

Share this page

Email this article.

August 24, 2019