Accolades: Faculty Honored for Contributions to Their Fields

Accolades is an occasional News Center feature that highlights recent accomplishments of UT Dallas faculty and students. To submit items for consideration, contact your school’s communication manager.

Physics Professor Named APS Fellow for Ultracold Physics

Dr. Chuanwei Zhang

Dr. Chuanwei Zhang

Dr. Chuanwei Zhang, professor of physics in the School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics, was named fellow of the American Physical Society (APS) in October.

Fellows are elected based on their exceptional contributions to physics. Zhang was cited for “seminal contributions to theoretical research in ultracold atomic physics, including studies of spin-orbit coupled quantum gases, topological superfluids with Majorana or Weyl fermions, and Fulde-Ferrell superfluid states.”

Zhang is a leading researcher in ultracold physics and quantum topological materials. His theories provide new ways to study, test and possibly exploit quantum physics, which governs the invisible realm of atoms and particles. Potential applications of his work include next-generation devices, such as ultra-fast quantum computers and nondissipative atomic circuits.

It is my great honor to receive such a distinct recognition of my scientific achievements at this career stage,” Zhang said. “It is also a recognition of the hard work of my students and postdocs. The APS fellowship bears witness to UT Dallas’ strengths in physics and fundamental science, which are crucial for the institution’s success as a national research university.”

Zhang received his PhD from The University of Texas at Austin in 2005 and joined UT Dallas faculty in 2012.

ATEC Professor Honored for His Work in Systems Movement

Dr. Nadin Mihai

Dr. Mihai Nadin

Dr. Mihai Nadin, Ashbel Smith Professor of computer science and interactive media, was recently featured in the International Journal of General Systems’ section of autobiographical retrospectives.

Nadin received an invitation from the Journal — due to his role as a leading figure in the systems movement across six decades — to contribute stories from his formative years, detailing his thought processes and motivations. The Journal previously awarded him its Best of 2010 publication award.

Nadin hopes that his work and that of his contemporaries will spark a new generation in his field.

“If those stimulated by my research in anticipatory systems will find as much inspiration in it as I found in the visionary work of those who initiated the systems perspective of science, the recognition granted to me will be meaningfully proven,” Nadin said.

Nadin, director of the Institute for Research in Anticipatory Systems, was an early proponent of integrating computers into education, and is regarded as a pioneer in computer graphics and human-computer interaction. He was named an Ashbel Smith Professor in 2004.

Media Contact: The Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected].