CARE Awards Honor Staff Members For Outstanding Service

Staff members who handle everything from campus landscaping to student events were honored at the Spring 2013 CARE Awards.

The Celebrate Achievement – Reward Excellence awards honor employees for superior performance, outstanding customer service and for enhancing the University's image.

Created in 1999 by the Staff Council, the semi-annual awards were presented at a May 1 ceremony. Fellow staff members, faculty members, visitors and customers of the University nominate the awardees. Each receives a desk clock and a framed certificate.

Here is the list of the Spring 2013 award recipients and comments from their colleagues who nominated them.

Dr. Mary Urguhart and Esthela Beltran Kortysheima "Tysh" Coleman
Esthela Beltran (right), administrative services officer for Math and Science Education, was described as someone who “goes beyond helpful to create for all of us a comfort zone. If we make a mistake, she is the one who helps to fix it." She's pictured above with Dr. Mary Urquhart, associate professor and head of the Department of Science/Mathematics Education. Kortysheima “Tysh” Coleman, senior project coordinator for the Office of Administration, “manages a large volume of activities, including the Welcome Back initiative for students. Her efforts include streamlining processes and organizing office tasks to ensure a responsive environment.”
Rion Morgan Dr. Thomas Campbell and Donise Pearson
Rion Morgan, manager of the help desk for Technology Customer Service, is known for going the extra mile. “If he is not able to remedy a situation, he finds out who can, and takes the time to explain the situation to that person, and then follows up later to make sure the process has been completed satisfactorily.” Donise Pearson, director of clinical operations for the Callier Center, is the HIPAA privacy officer and provides guidance and support. “She is always supportive and respectful toward her peers and subordinates, and most days, she is in the office long after everyone else has left for home. Donise is always willing to accept new responsibilities." Pearson is pictured above with Callier Center Director Thomas Campbell.
Dr. Gopal Gupta and Norma Richardson Craig Lewis
Norma Richardson, academic support coordinator for the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science, does “an outstanding job collecting and organizing data, and communicating with faculty to accomplish the necessary requirements for review and accreditation. Norma has a great sense of humor, and she treats everyone with courtesy, respect and with a smile.” Richardson is pictured with Dr. Gopal Gupta, head of the Computer Science Department.



Craig Lewis, greenhouse and landscape coordinator for Facilities Management, is the University’s “main advocate for going green with campus landscaping.” Described as “energetic and friendly,” his signature touch can be found throughout campus. His eye for saving money and reducing chemicals for healthier plants was mentioned in his nomination. “His amazing contributions will continue to benefit all who visit our campus for years to come.”

Media Contact: The Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected].