Nobel Laureate Dr. Alan G. MacDiarmid of UTD Elected Member of National Academy of Sciences

Nobel Prize-winning scientist Dr. Alan G. MacDiarmid, a distinguished scholar in residence at The University of Texas at Dallas (UTD), has been elected to membership in the National Academy of Sciences, one of the nation’s top scientific honors.

MacDiarmid shared the 2000 Nobel Prize in chemistry with two other scientists for discoveries that plastics can be made electrically conductive. He is a co-discoverer of the field of conducting polymers, also known as “synthetic metals.”

Last August, MacDiarmid joined UTD as a distinguished scholar in residence, a senior advisor on science and technology to UTD President Dr. Franklyn Jenifer and chair of the advisory board of the UTD NanoTech Institute.

Media Contact: The Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected].