Development Board Welcomes New Chairman

The UT Dallas Development Board has appointed a new leader and added eight members to further its mission of promoting the University’s interests in the community.

Phil Ritter, executive vice president of governmental and stakeholder affairs for Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport, will lead the 30-member board’s efforts to continue building support and financial backing for UT Dallas. 

“Dallas and the state really love quality and are willing to invest in it,” explained Ritter at the board’s meeting last month. “And quality is what we have here at UT Dallas. Now our job as board members is to go out and tell our story to gain support for the deans, faculty and our students.”

Before joining D/FW Airport, Ritter worked at Texas Instruments for 20 years, most recently as senior vice president of public affairs. He has been involved in many organizations, including the Semiconductor Industry Association, Volunteer Center of Dallas County and Dallas Area Rapid Transit Board of Directors. Ritter has a law degree from the University of Maryland and a master’s in public affairs from the University of Texas LBJ School of Public Affairs in Austin.

Ritter replaces Jim Von Ehr, who served as chairman of the development board from 2006 to last month. Von Ehr is founder and CEO of Richardson-based Zyvex Labs, a leading company in the pioneering field of nanotechnology.

“Now is one of the most exciting times to be involved with the University,” said Von Ehr, who will remain on the board. “Growth in our enrollment, expert faculty and renovations to the campus have us on the path to being a Tier One research university.”

Von Ehr received a master’s degree from the UT Dallas School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics in 1981 and was honored by the University as a Distinguished Alumni in 2004. He served on the Erik Jonsson School of Engineering and Computer Science Industrial Advisory Council and the development board since 2002. He endowed the James Von Ehr Distinguished Chair in Science and Technology at UTD and is a member of the University’s Research Advisory Board.

New members to the development board include business leaders, friends and alumni from as far as California.

“This is a dynamic and accomplished group with unstoppable enthusiasm for UT Dallas and our future success,” said Dr. Aaron Conley, vice president for development and alumni relations.

The new board members include:

  • Bill Booziotis, president, Booziotis & Co. Architects.
  • Burton Einspruch, corporate and forensic consultant.
  • Anchi Ku (BS ‘81), immigration paralegal, Jackson Lewis LLP.
  • Robert Lavie, honorary consul of France.
  • Rich McBee, president, Tektronix Communications.
  • Robert Potter, R.J. Potter Co.
  • Holly Reed, regional vice president for external affairs, AT&T.
  • Clark Straw (MS ‘75), retired Hewlett-Packard executive.

The Development Board's outgoing chairman, Jim Von Ehr (center), was honored by the board's new leader, Phil Ritter (left), and UT Dallas President David E. Daniel at the spring meeting.

Media Contact: The Office of Media Relations, UT Dallas, (972) 883-2155, [email protected].