Department of Chemistry

School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Seven Students Successfully Defend Theses in Chemistry

Seven chemistry students successfully defended their graduate theses in early July.

Master’s candidate Lee Hall and Ph.D. candidates Joselito Razal and Dan Seyer conducted their research under the direction of Robert A. Welch Chair and NanoTech Institute director Ray Baughman, Ph.D.

Ph.D. candidate Hui Xie conducted his interdisciplinary work under Baughman and Associate Professor Gregg R. Dieckmann, Ph.D.

Finally, Ph.D. candidates Aimei Wu and Kyle Cattanach worked with Associate Professor Sanjeev Manohar, Ph.D., and James Von Ehr Chair and 2000 Nobel laureate Alan MacDiarmid, Ph.D.

Each student produced research that was “interesting and first rate,” according to Associate Professor and acting Chemistry Department head Inga Musselman, Ph.D. “The talks were excellent, and they each did a brilliant job answering tough questions,” she said.

Hall described his successful defense as “a rite of passage and a milestone that feels great to have behind me.”

  • Updated: August 30, 2005