School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

UTD Students Win 1st and 3rd place at the 38th Annual American Chemical Society "Meeting-in-Miniature"

The School of Natural Sciences & Mathematics is proud to congratulate Andrew Washington, Jr. and Ann Chacko, the first and third place winners of the 38th Annual Meeting-in-Miniature of the American Chemical Society (DFW local section). The event was held Saturday, April 30, at the University of Texas at Arlington.

Undergraduate and graduate students from area universities, including U. T. Arlington,
U. T. Dallas, The University of North Texas, Southern Methodist University and Texas A&M at Commerce, gave oral presentations on their research in chemistry and biochemistry. Topics included nanotechnology, new materials, biochemistry and organic, inorganic, physical and analytical chemistry.

Undergraduate Section
1st Place Remond Moningka (U. T. Arlington)
2nd Place Judlyn Telesford (Midwestern State University)
3d Place Amy Shah & Evan Gawlik (UNT)

Graduate Section
1st Place Andrew Washington, Jr. (U. T. Dallas) "Electrospun Conjugated Polymers"
2nd Place Ben Mintz (UNT)
3rd Place Ann Chacko (U. T. Dallas) "Novel Acid-doped Membranes for High Temperature PEM Fuel Cells" & Sashikala Somasundaram (U. T. Arlington)

The School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics places great importance on the work of its talented and committed students.


  • Updated: February 10, 2014