School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

Cecil and Ida Green Honors Professor of Physics, Elected Fellow of the American Geophysical Union

Roderick Heelis, the Cecil H. and Ida Green Chair in Systems Biology Science #2, Professor of Physics and Director of the William B. Hanson Center for Space Sciences at UTD, has been elected Fellow of the American Geophysical Union (AGU).

A Fellow of AGU is a scientist who has attained acknowledged eminence in the geophysical sciences. This honor is bestowed on only 0.1% of the membership each year by a committee of 11 Fellows.

Award ceremonies will take place at the annual meeting to be held in Baltimore Maryland in May, 2006.

The American Geophysical Union is a scientific society, comprising 43,000 Earth and space scientists. It publishes a dozen peer reviewed journal series and holds meetings at which current research is presented to the scientific community and the public.

AGU has a diverse program for recognizing members and others who have made outstanding contributions to the advancement of the geophysical sciences, to the service of the community, and to the public's understanding.


  • Updated: February 10, 2014