School of Natural Sciences and Mathematics

UTD Science/Mathematics Education Department Head, Recipient of the 2006 Unsung Shero of the Year

The UTD Galerstein Women's Center believes in the spirit of women, and therefore rewards women for excellence and their contribution to the success of women on campus.

The center sponsors an awards ceremony to recognize those female faculty, staff, and students on the UTD campus that have shown excellence in their field, and also in their dedication to the success of women on campus.

Faculty, staff and students were encouraged to nominate outstanding women and men so that the center could recognize these individuals and their accomplishments. Several categories were available including Unsung Shero of the Year (Faculty and Staff), Torch Bearer of the Year, Feminist Ally of the Year and Trail Blazer.

Dr. Cynthia Ledbetter, is the recipient of the 2006 Unsung Shero of the Year award, which is awarded to one faculty member and one staff member that has shown a dedication to issues affecting women on campus and in the community.

The School of Natural Sciences & Mathematics is proud of Dr. Ledbetter for her accomplishments.

The mission of UTD's Galerstein Women's Center is to support and empower women on campus, increase awareness of gender issues, and advocate for an inclusive, safe, and open environment for all.

  • Updated: February 10, 2014