Leadership Team

Michael Kilgard

Dr. Michael Kilgard

Interim Executive Director and Chief Science Officer

Dr. Michael Kilgard, is one of the world’s leading scientists in the study of neural plasticity. The Margaret Fonde Jonsson Professor and inventor of Targeted Plasticity Therapy (TPT) has authored over 100 peer-reviewed publications and overseen the design of four clinical trials using TPT for tinnitus and stroke.

Dr. Kilgard received a bachelor’s degree in molecular and cell biology from the University of California, Berkeley, in 1993 and a doctorate in neuroscience from the University of California, San Francisco, in 1998. There his research was focused on understanding and directing neuroplasticity within the auditory system. He began teaching at UT Dallas in 1999 as an assistant professor and was promoted to full professor in 2011.
Curriculum Vitae

Robert Rennaker

Dr. Robert Rennaker

Associate Director and Chief Technology Officer

Dr. Robert Rennaker, Texas Instruments Distinguished Chair in Bioengineering, is a neural engineer with more than 20 years of experience in the development of neural interfaces. He earned his bachelor’s, master’s and doctoral degrees in biomedical engineering from Arizona State University with the help of the Whitaker International Fellows and Scholars Program for emerging leaders in biomedical engineering. After seven years on the faculty at the University of Oklahoma, Dr. Rennaker joined UT Dallas as an associate professor. He was promoted to full professor in 2014.

Dr. Rennaker served in the U.S. Marine Corps for five years. He was deployed to Operation Desert Storm, Operation Sharp Edge and Operation Provide Comfort. Most recently, he launched two biomedical research companies that manufacture preclinical and clinical devices.

Seth Hays

Dr. Seth Hays

Director of Preclinical Research

Dr. Seth Hays, Eugene McDermott Professor, received his undergraduate degree in biomedical engineering from the University of Texas at Austin and his Ph.D. in Neuroscience from the University of Texas Southwestern Medical Center. Dr. Hays is an assistant professor in the Department of Bioengineering at UT Dallas and Director of Preclinical Research for the TxBDC. He oversees research focused on developing vagus nerve stimulation (VNS) therapies to improve recovery in a variety of models of neurological disease and identifying the neural mechanisms engaged by VNS to support recovery. Dr. Hays was awarded the prestigious American Heart Association Robert G. Siekert New Investigator for Stroke Award in 2015.
Curriculum Vitae

Jane Wiggington

Dr. Jane Wigginton

Chief Medical Officer

Dr. Jane Wigginton has over 15 years of experience with emergency medical care and clinical trials. She sits on the institutional review board at UT Southwestern and is currently running the stroke targeted plasticity study for the center. She attended the University of Texas Southwestern Medical School (UTSWMS) in Dallas, Texas and then completed her Emergency Medicine residency at UTSWMS and the affiliated Parkland Health & Hospital System.

Connect with us: