Gopal Gupta

Erik Jonsson Professor and Department Head,
Department of Computer Science,
University of Texas at Dallas

Contact Information:

Email: gupta AT utdallas DOT edu (best way to contact me)
Tel: (972) 883 4107
Fax: (972) 883 2399
Office: 4.907 CS Bldg. (ECS South)    (DIRECTIONS)

[Future/Recent Events] [Research Interests] [Education] [Projects] [Service][Current/Past Students] [Courses] [Miscellaneous]

Follow what's happening in the CS Department on click here

News: The paper on Coinductive Logic Programming in ICLP 2006 by Simon, Mallya, Bansal and Gupta earns ICLP 2016 10 years Test-of-Time award
s(ASP): A predicate answer set programming system (includes source code and documentation.) new
Software: GALLIWASP: A goal-directed system for answer set programming (includes source code and documentation.)
Software: Metainterpreter supporting tabling (DRA) and coinduction with applications to LTL model checking
Company: Founded (2008) Interoperate, Inc. (funded by the Texas Emerging Technology Fund)   (see recent UTD press release)
Other Activities: the E-plan system, the QOLT Lab, and the CHAMPS Project (see CHAMPS press release)  
Recent Work: (See a summary of my group's research contributions here)

Research Interests:


From 1989 to 1991, I worked as a Research Associate in the research group of David H.D. Warren (of the Warren Abstract Machine fame, now retired) in the CS Department, University of Bristol, UK.

From 01/92 to 08/00, I worked as a faculty member in the Computer Science Department at New Mexico State University.

Current Projects

Support for my group has been provided by NSF, NATO, EPA, DHS, Sandia National Labs, AITEC (Japan), Fullbright Foundation, etc.

Software Systems developed by my research group

Professional Organization Service

Past Organized Events

Students: Past and Present

Ph.D. Students

  1. Enrico Pontelli, 1997, Ph.D. Thesis: Design and Implementation of the ACE System. Currently, Full Professor, NMSU. Awarded NSF CAREER grant, 1998;
  2. Haifeng Guo, Oct. 2000 , Ph.D. Thesis: Efficient Distributed and Tabled Logic Programming Systems. Ex NSF Post Doc. Fellow, SUNY SB. Currently, Associate Professor, CS Dept. University of Nebraska at Omaha. Awarded Nebraska EPSCOR Career grant.
  3. Luke Simon, July. 2006, Ph.D. Thesis: Coinductive Logic Programming. Microsoft, Redmond, WA. (Won best paper award at ECOWS'05). View the thesis
  4. Ajay Mallya, Aug. 2006, Ph.D. Thesis: Deductive Model Checking., Seattle, WA. (won best student paper award at ICLP'05; best paper award ECOWS'05).
  5. Qian Wang, Dec. 2007, Thesis: Semantics-based Approaches to Formal Language Processing, Interoperate LLC (best paper SVV'03).
  6. Ajay Bansal, Dec. 2007, Thesis: Next Generation of LP Systems. Postdoc. Georgetown University. (Won best paper award at ECOWS'05).
  7. Srividya Kona, Dec. 2007, Thesis: Automatic Discovery and Composition of Web Services, Assistant Professor. Arizona State University (Won best paper award at ECOWS'05).
  8. Richard Min, August 2009, Thesis: Predicate Answer Set Programming with Coinduction. Taylor University. View the thesis
  9. Neda Saeedloei, Ph.D. student, Verification of Complex Real-time Systems. Researcher, INRIA-Rocquencort. View the thesis
  10. Kyle Marple, Ph.D. student, Goal-directed Answer Set Programming.
  11. Brian DeVries, Ph.D. student, Coinduction in Verification.

Master's Students (with information on first employment)

  1. Savio Monteiro, (2010, UTD CE PhD student), Mobile Aural Browsing.
  2. Abhilash Tiwari (2009, NPI), Intelligent Interfaces for Problem Solving
  3. Shrirang Khisti(2008, VMWare), Automatic Detecton of Memory Leaks in Binary Executables
  4. Parag Doshi(2007, Yahoo), General Strategies for Buffer Overflow Attack Proofing
  5. Bharathi Boyareddigari, Thesis: Guidance System for Visually Impaired
  6. Aanchal Jain (2006, Tektronix), Thesis: Automatic Generation of Interactive Talking Books
  7. Siddharth Chitnis(2006, QualComm), Thesis: Logical Spreadsheets
  8. Sriram Sunder Raman (2005, QualComm), Thesis: Dynamic Aural Web Navigation.
  9. Ramya Reguramalingam (2005, (12/05), Thesis: Buffer Attack-proofing of Binary Code.
  10. Rekha Ramesh (2005, Metallect), Thesis: Automatic Meeting Scheduling Server
  11. Madhu Yennamani (2004, Novomatic), Thesis: Constraint-based Timetable Generation
  12. Ramakrishnan Venkitaraman (2004, QualComm), Thesis: Static Program Analysis of DSP Software Systems
  13. Kunal Patel (2004, Network Inference, Inc.), Thesis: Semantically Processing the Semantic Web
  14. Vinay Ahuja (2003, Intelligenxia, Inc.), Thesis: Strategies for Robocup Soccer
  15. Hemamber Reddy (2004, Metallect Corp), Thesis: Dynamically Navigable VoiceXML
  16. Narayan Annamalai (2002, Intervoice), Thesis: Extensible Translator from HTML to VoiceXML View the thesis
  17. Xinhong Zhou (2001, Sabre, Inc.), Project: Transforming DTDs to DCGs.
  18. Larry King (2000, Honeywell Research Center), Thesis: Course scheduling with Constraint Logic Programming.
  19. C-C Cheng (2000, Cadence Design, Inc.). Project: Automatic Generation of XML Parsers
  20. Nayana Datta (2000, Synopsis, Inc.). Thesis: Semantics-based Interoperability.
  21. Hai-Feng Guo (1999, on to Ph.D.). Thesis: Semantics-based Nemeth to Latex Backtranslation.
  22. Jose Mendez (1998, Argodata), Thesis: NMSU Advising and Audit System.
  23. Shameem Akhter (1998, Intel). Thesis: Knowledgesheet: A Spreadsheet Interface for CLP Programs. See Shameem's latest work: the first book on programing multicore architectures.
  24. Federico Bassetti (1997, Los Alamos National Labs). Thesis: Performance Evaluation of Computer Systems.
  25. Jung-Wook Bang (1997, on to Ph.D. @ Imperial College, UK). Thesis: Automated Medical Diagnosis of Acid-Base Disorders.
  26. Rick Vaupel (1996, Lockheed). Thesis: Visualization of And-Or Parallel Execution.
  27. Haren Babu (1995, IBM.). Thesis: Or-parallelism on Distributed Machines.
  28. Greg Luce (1994, employment info. n/a). Project: Design/Impl. of a Parallelizing Compiler.


My full CV (pdf format)


Hits since 05/20/05: