The Ethel Ward-McLemore Award for Library Excellence

The Ethel Ward-McLemore Award for Library Excellence is presented annually to library staff members in recognition of their outstanding contributions to McDermott Library. The award is funded by the late Ethel Ward-McLemore. Each award winner receives a commemorative gold pin and a check for $1,000. This year's award dinner will be held Tuesday, June 2nd in the Galaxy Room.

Ethel Ward-McLemore’s Biography

Ethel Ward-McLemore's presence in the geophysical community was a personal triumph because she was one of the first female geophysicists and a pioneering spirit throughout her life. She was given an Honorary Membership in the Society of Exploration Geophysicists in recognition of her early work for Humble Oil and Refining and more than 50 years of service to exploration geology. Ward-McLemore began her education in mathematics and chemistry at Mississippi Woman's College where she earned her B.A. in 1928. Her studies continued at the University of North Carolina where she earned an M.A. in 1929. She took additional courses and pursued research at such institutions as the University of Chicago, Colorado School of Mines, Texas Christian University, and Southern Methodist University. In 1932 she entered the field of geophysics as assistant to Donald Barton, co-founder and first president of the Society of Exploration Geophysicists. In 1933, with Barton, she joined Humble's Geological Department, headed by Wallace Pratt. In 1935, Ethel Ward married Robert McLemore, a petroleum engineer. Two years later, Ethel left Humble when her husband was transferred to Beeville, Texas, as district engineer for Sun Oil. She continued her research with Barton independently.

A prolific author, Ward-McLemore published several books, many of which are in the McDermott Library collection. During her lifetime she worked and did research in the Geological Information Library of Dallas, which was once located at the University of Texas at Dallas. When Ward-McLemore visited McDermott Library after her retirement, she experienced the professionalism, knowledge, and concern of the staff. An office was set aside for her where she continued her research. She was a generous lady and expressed her appreciation by establishing the Ethel Ward-McLemore Award of Excellence. Two deserving library employees have received the award, every year, since 1989.

Eligibility Requirements and Staff Candidates

Persons meeting the following requirements are eligible for consideration:
  • Benefits-eligible employees of The University of Texas at Dallas Libraries
  • Minimum of two years continuous service at UT Dallas Libraries, up to and including
    May 1st, 2015
  • Must be nominated by colleagues
  • Have not received this award within the past two years

The Library Director, Associate Library Directors, and members of the McLemore Committee are ineligible to receive the award.

The following list of employees are eligible to receive the Ethel Ward-McLemore Award for Library Excellence.

Allen, Thomas
Boyd, Kendra
Chen, Mingyu
Clayton, Allen
Crouch, BobbyeJo
Dautovic, Mirsad
DePhillips, Linda
Edwards, Chris
Fisher, Susan
Hawthorne, Lauren
Henry, Loreen
Isham, Stephanie
Johnson, Brooke
Johnson, Sylvia
Kim, Misu
Lovelady, Ty
Makowka, Matthew
McInis, Sue
Miskimins, Seth
Mitchell, Carly
Nava, Patrizia
Neal, Jady
Oelkrug, Paul
Oshel, Carol
Palmiere, Kristen
Pate, Davin
Perkins, Paula
Ramsey, Mike
Ravilija, Slavko
Rodriguez, Alexander
Rogers, Theresa
Scott, Una
Shevchuk, Iryna
Snow, Linda
Tanghlyn, Wanda
Trujillo, Merry
Walvoord, Kreg
Young, Matthew
Zakhidova, Nadira

Nomination Guidelines

The Ethel Ward-McLemore Award for Library Excellence will be conferred upon staff members who have demonstrated the highest standards of library service.
  1. Nominate a staff member by filling out and submitting the online nomination form.
  2. You may nominate more than one staff member per year.
  3. A separate nomination form must be submitted for each person you wish to nominate.
  4. Previously-submitted nominations do not “carry over” from year to year. If you submitted a nomination for an eligible staff member in a prior year, you may nominate them again now if they are still eligible. However, you must submit a new nomination form for the 2015 committee to review.
  5. The questions on the nomination form are provided to assist you.
  6. It is essential to include specific examples illustrating why your nominee deserves the award.
Nominations must be received no later than Friday, May 15th, 2015 at 5:00 pm.

Past McLemore Library Excellence Award Recipients

1989 Peggy Olson, Pat Rudkin
1990 Henry Reed, Peg Fawns
1991 Linda Snow, Sheila Blankenship
1992 Rick Biddenstadt, Vickie Bullock
1993 Jean Vik, Jane Heslep (Hoorman)
1994 Toni Huckaby, Lila Babcock
1995 Joan Aquatero, Nancy Whitt
1996 Allen Clayton, Darlene Ricketts
1997 Nancy Steele, Ellen Safley
1998 Patsy Aguilera, Lynn Butler
1999 Denyse Henery, Gaby Perkowski
2000 Jane Darling, Mary Caspari
2001 Debbie Montgomery, Shaun Proctor
2002 Ruth Oldham, Sharon Deal
2003 Fatiah Lambert, Debbie Gilbert
2004 Merry Trujillo, Loreen Phillips
2005 Tahmoures Elyasi, Mircea Grancea
2006 Mary Ann Harrison, Serenity King
2007 Carol McGee, Sue McInis
2008 Tom Koch, Carol Oshel
2009 Susie Kutchi, Jach Ross
2010 Abdullah Daud, Jennifer Gordon
2011 Michelle Sancen, Paul Oelkrug
2012 Misu Kim, Lauren Hawthorne
2013 Agnes Wallace, Jesse Davis
2014 Sharon Tadlock, DeAnn Hegi

2015 McLemore Committee Members

2015 Ethel Ward-McLemore Awards for Library Excellence Nomination Form

Ethel Ward-McLemore, one of the first female geophysicists, was also a published author of several books. Her love for research and education eventually led her to McDermott Library. Impressed with the service she received, Ward-McLemore established the award that bears her name. Each year library colleagues are honored in recognition of their outstanding contributions to our libraries with both a certificate and $1,000.

Thank you for visiting the McLemore Awards page.
Nominations will be accepted May 4 – May 15.
Please return during that time and cast your vote for the 2016 recipients.